DUI

Oklahoma DUI and DWI Laws

Driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI) in the state of Oklahoma comes with serious consequences. According to Oklahoma DUI laws, you are legally considered “intoxicated” when your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at 0.08%. Depending on the circumstances, you will face:

  • Fines
  • Jail time
  • License suspension or even revocation

DUI vs. DWI

It all has to do with your BAC level. If your BAC is 0.08 or above and you are operating a motor vehicle, you are considered DUI. If you have alcohol in your system but your BAC is below 0.08, it is considered a DWI in Oklahoma.

Oklahoma BAC Rules

For licensed Oklahoma drivers over the age of 21, the following rules apply when it comes to BAC levels:

  • A BAC between 0.001 and 0.05 does not indicate intoxication
  • A BAC between 0.051 and 0.079 is evidence of impairment, but more evidence is necessary for conviction
  • A BAC level of 0.08 or higher is considered intoxicated

Penalties for DUI Offenses

The penalties for DUI convictions get progressively harsher the more DUIs you rack up, and range from fines to a suspended license in Oklahoma.

First Offense

  • Jail time between 10 days and 1 year
  • Fine of up to $1,000
  • Driver’s license revocation for 6 months (180 days)

Second Offense (Within 10 Years of First Offense)

  • Jail time between 1 year and 5 years
  • Fine of up to $2,500
  • Driver’s license revocation for 1 year (if there was a previous revocation for DUI within the past 5 years)
  • Ignition interlock device required for 6 months to 3 years after license revocation period

Third or More Offenses

  • Jail time between 1 year and 10 years
  • Fine of up to $5,000
  • Driver’s license revocation for 3 years (if there were 2 or more previous revocations for DUI within the past 5 years)
  • Ignition Interlock Device required for up to 3 years after license revocation period

Other DUI Expenses

The fines that come with a DUI conviction are already costly, but add onto that the other costs that accompany a DUI, and the phrase “paying for your mistake” takes on a whole new meaning. Unlike regular Oklahoma traffic ticket fines, you’ll likely have to pay for the following on top of your penalty fines:

  • Attorney’s fees
  • Lost time from work
  • Transportation costs during your license revocation period
  • Alcohol/drug treatment costs
  • $75 processing fee for license revocation
  • $25 fee for license reinstatement
  • $175 fee for authorized limited driving
  • Increased insurance rates

Underage Drinking and Driving

When it comes to drivers under the age of 21, Oklahoma has a strict “zero tolerance” policy for alcohol. Any amount of alcohol found in the system of a driver under 21 will lead to drivers license revocation. Refusal to take the BAC test will result in automatic license revocation for the same period that it would be if any alcohol was detected.

The revocation periods for underage DUI convictions according to Oklahoma DUI laws are:

  • 1st offense: 6 months
  • 2nd offense: 12 months
  • 3rd offense: 36 months

On top of automatic drivers license suspension, underage drinkers will face:

  • Fines between $100-$500 or community service, or a treatment program, or any combination of the 3 (for a 1st conviction)
  • Fines between $100-$1,000 or community service, or a treatment program, or any combination of the 3 (for a 2nd or subsequent conviction)

And if you’re under the age of 18, beware: Oklahoma DUI laws and DWI laws state that getting arrested for any crime that involves alcohol (even if you were not driving a vehicle) is cause to lose your driving privileges anywhere from 6 months to 2 years, depending on the circumstances.

Source: https://www.idrivesafely.com/dmv/oklahoma/laws/dui-and-dwi-laws/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *